Christ the King Mission
This mission church is located in Bellevue, some seven miles northwest of Grand Coteau, and is the center of a vibrant church community.
The original mission church was built in 1937 under the administration of Fr. J. Godfrey Cook, S.J. In 1949 the church was enlarged and remodeled by Fr. John H. Millet, S.J., who was the administrator of the mission for many years.
In 1942 four Sisters of the Holy Family, led by Sister Mary Jane Francis Evans, opened a school at the mission. They struggled heroically to begin the work because there were so few resources available to them. Sr. Jane Francis left in 1944 but returned in 1957 to advance the ministry of Christ the King Mission until her death on September 20, 1978.
|Christ the King Convent of the Holy Family Sisters
Now used for parish meetings and houses a collection of African and native American art
The school closed in the 1980s because the Holy Family Sisters, due to diminishing numbers, were no longer able to provide staff.
The Jesuit Fathers from the parish staff of St. Charles Borromeo Church in Grand Coteau continue to provide sacramental ministry in the Mission Church and to support the capable volunteers from the church community who take responsibility for many ministries to their members.